What happened to my website in March 📈

Your website might also be affected

Hi there,

Hope you are doing well!

Thank you for participating in my Gumroad sale yesterday!

If you have any questions left, feel free to hit reply and let me know.

I read all your emails and will respond at my earliest convenience. 😇 

In this newsletter, I want to talk about what I did to grow and monetize my website in March.

If that’s your goal, too, I’m sure you’ll find this newsletter insightful.

Here’s what happened to my website in March. 👇️ 

  • Google March broad algorithm update (it affected a lot of websites)

  • I got a $200 affiliate commission from my Semrush review page

  • I got a $100 affiliate commission from my Koala AI review page

  • I concluded a guest post deal for $100, which will be published soon

FYI: My website has 76 pages and 6k monthly traffic, and it makes roughly $500 per month thanks to a smart SEO strategy.

I didn’t publish anything new on my website in March since I was busy working on the 12-month content plan for one of my clients and writing optimized articles for another client.

Despite a month of inactivity, my website’s performance didn’t get worse!

Moreover, its click-through rate (CTR) improved after the Google algorithm update! 📈

After working 5 years in the SEO industry, I realized that content quantity is secondary.

You can publish new content daily. However, nobody will find it in organic search results if it’s not optimized and unhelpful.

The Internet is flooded with shallow AI-generated content.

Why create more garbage? 🤔 

You might say: “But Victoria, we need to target popular keywords because we want to outperform competitors and attract new clients.”

Fair enough!

That’s what I and my clients do as well.

How you can maintain your website’s growth without losing traffic

Prioritize high-quality content: Regularly create content that is valuable, informative, trustworthy, and engaging to your visitors. Update existing content to keep it fresh and relevant. Check my case study on this topic. 

Stay informed about algorithm updates: Search engines like Google regularly update their algorithms. Following SEO best practices and understanding the latest updates can help you adapt your website accordingly.

Here’s what you should know about the latest March update:

Align your website with Google’s E-E-A-T: Showcase expertise through in-depth content, building authoritativeness with industry citations, and demonstrating trustworthiness with clear contact information and user reviews. Add author bio.

Boost CTR to boost organic performance: More clicks = higher CTR and potentially higher rankings. You can try automating your CTR optimization tasks with SERP Empire.

Build backlinks naturally: Backlinks are links from other websites to yours. Earning backlinks from high-authority sites shows search engines your website is credible. Avoid buying backlinks or participating in link schemes, as these can hurt your rankings.

Diversify your traffic sources: Don't rely solely on search engine traffic. Utilize social media marketing, email marketing, and other channels to drive visitors to your website. For example, I actively use my Medium blog and newsletter to diversify my website’s traffic.

It might seem overwhelming at first glance.

However, implementing these recommendations will pay you off in the future.

Unlike other website owners, who lose organic traffic with every algorithm update, your website won’t be affected!

Maintaining your website’s performance must be your primary goal.

Figuring out ways how to grow your website is your secondary goal.

I hope you find this newsletter helpful!

Let me know how your website has been performing lately and whether you have any questions on how to grow it. 😉 

Whenever you are ready

If you want to know how to grow and monetize your website, here’s how I can help you:

 👉️ “SEO expert in your pocket” to get all your questions answered anytime. This is the exclusive and most affordable opportunity I’ve ever offered to work with me. Share your questions and get answers to all your questions weekly!

👉️ Grab my “SEO Checklist for New Websites.

 👉️ Want to grow & monetize your website? Check my 12-month content writing plan.

Hit “reply” and let me know your thoughts or questions if you have any.

Have a great day!

Victoria

Victoria Kurichenko

P.S. Check my latest Medium article:

Join the conversation

or to participate.