Google's Gemini put to the test 🤖

Spoiler: It's not what I expected.

Hi there,

I’m excited to share my newest SEO case study with you. 😎

I used to generate and optimize my blog posts with Koala Writer.

This time, I’ve experimented with Google’s Gemini — the large language model serving as a successor of Google’s Bard.

I used Gemini to create a blog post about SEO newsletters. 👇

I researched keywords, prepared a list of keywords to target, and created an outline aligned with users' search intent.

The idea was to use Gemini to generate content about five different SEO newsletters while I would write about my newsletter on my own.

I thought this strategy would work like all the previous times since no research data or anything specific is required for this article. 

However, it didn’t work this time. 

Here’s what happened. 👇

  1. The page was indexed

  2. Got several impressions

  3. Google excluded my SEO newsletter blog post from indexing

What I did to fix the indexing issue

I resubmitted the URL for indexing in Google Search Console. 

Based on my experience, it usually helps to bring the URL back in 1-2 days.

If you face issues with indexing, here’s what you can do:

What happened to my blog post later

The dead URL started slowly recovering and getting organic impressions.

However, it’s too early to make a conclusion.

Based on my experience, AI content can perform exceptionally well at the very beginning but ultimately lose its traffic and rankings after Google updates.

If your page remains unindexed for some reason, I recommend the following strategies, which have always worked for me:

  • Rewrite 30–50% of the content (Google considers a page unique if it has over 50% unique content).

  • Change meta title and description 

  • Add new paragraphs

I hope this practical newsletter helped you learn something new today. Now you know how to fix indexing issues if you have any. 💪

Whenever you are ready

If you want to know how to grow and monetize your website, here’s how I can help you:

 👉️ “SEO expert in your pocket” to get all your questions answered anytime. This is the exclusive and most affordable opportunity I’ve ever offered to work with me. Share your questions and get answers to all your questions weekly!

👉️ Grab my “SEO Checklist for New Websites.

Hit “reply” and let me know your thoughts or questions if you have any.

Have a great day!

Victoria

Victoria Kurichenko

P.S. Check my most popular Medium article this month:

Join the conversation

or to participate.